Weddings

17 Jun

I’m currently the Maid of Honor for the third time in the last 4 years.

After 4 years of being a bridesmaid as well as attending other weddings and spending thousands of dollars on the dresses and the shoes and the gifts and the showers and the stagettes and the list goes on … I’ve decided that I will NEVER, EVER have a wedding.  What a waste of time, money, patience and extra added stress over one fucking (excuse my language) day. 

Now, I’m all for marriage and the idea of marriage.  I love the thought of committing yourself to this one person, your soul mate, that you will spend the rest of your life with.  That gives me goosebumps.  To love someone so much, that you know you only want to be with them forever.  I definitely want to be married one day but I repeat, I DO NOT and WILL NOT have this huge blowout wedding that so many women have been dreaming of since they can remember.

My idea of a wedding will be my soon to be husband and I on a beach somewhere, saying our vows to one another and committing ourselves to each other.  No guests.  I believe marriage is about those 2 people and those 2 people only.  It’s not about the other 250 people (sometimes more or less) that attend your wedding.  It’s not important to me to “share our love for one another” with my family and friends.  My close family and friends should already know what we have.  They don’t need to see the confirmation.

When the time comes, I don’t want a dress, or bridal party, or a shower, or stagette.  No invitations, center pieces, party favors, cake.  Nothing.  I don’t want any of it. 

Just something simple and for him to say “I do”.

Leave a Reply

