On to the next one…

1 Nov

Woohoo!!!  I did it.  Today is November 1 and I am officially finished Sober October.  I made it through the whole month without having one drop of liquor.  I’m so freakin’ proud of myself right now, I can’t even begin to tell you.  And, this weekend coming up will actually mark 2 months since I’ve had a drink. Hi-Five to myself.

It’s definitely been a test of will power.  There were a few times where I wanted to just break down and have a few glasses of wine.  There were birthdays throughout the month and Halloween parties this whole weekend.  But I managed to pull through and overcame the temptations.

I overcame them by overeating.  Hahaha…seriously!!!  You would have thought that not drinking would have helped me shed a few pounds.  After all, when I was drinking, that’s what I blamed my weight gain on.  I would eat healthy all week and then when the weekends came, I would drink and shove McDonalds down my throat.  Turns out, that’s not the case.

So, Sober October taught me that I need to chill on the food situation.  I totally realized that I’m an emotional eater.  When I locked myself in my house to avoid any social situations, I would eat to pass the time.  Sure I got a lot of stuff finished around the house, which feels fantastic, but I also ate cookies and pie and popcorn while I did it.

OK…NEW GOAL!!!  I’ve obviously proved that when I put my mind to something, I can do it.  Soooooo since I have exactly 45 days before I leave for Hawaii, I need to get my shit together.  I’m not expecting a miracle, but a lot can be accomplished in 45 days.  It’s safe to lose up to 2lbs per week.  This Thursday will mark 6 weeks until my trip.  6 weeks * 2lbs per week = 12lbs.  BUT, I have my birthday coming up, and Christmas, which means parties and goodies galore.  So we will minus 2 lbs off of that number to make up for the parties for the festive season.  New goal…to lose 10lbs before I leave for my Hawaii trip.

Let’s do this.

 

 

One Response to “On to the next one…”

  1. Natalie November 6, 2010 at 11:00 AM #

    Bah! You didn’t even drink for Halloween? That’s awesome, I commend you girl! I lasted 3 days. And to be honest, I drank all three of those days for “sober october”. You should be very proud…you never realize how commonplace alcohol is in our lives until you abstain for it!

Leave a Reply

