Cleaning Out My Closet

24 Sep

This past week I started to “clean out my closet”.  Not in the dark, deep, emotional way as we hear in Eminem’s song…yikes!! Literally though…I have soooooo many clothes that I don’t wear and my closet rail is slowly starting to bend in the middle.  The weight of my clothes is going to cause it to snap soon if I don’t do something about it.  Not to mention, I can barely close some of my dresser drawers because they are so packed with clothes.  So this week I’ve dedicated my evenings to getting rid of everything that I don’t wear.

Although this is a time to be out with the old, it’s really hard to part with some items.  Even though I haven’t worn it in years, at one point I really loved some of these clothes.  There are items of clothing that have memories attached to them.  I can just look at a dress and remember the exact moment I wore it and how it made me feel.  I keep saying to myself that maybe one day I will wear them again.  But let’s be honest, if I haven’t worn something in over a year, it ain’t gonna happen.

There’s also the clothes that I can no longer fit into.  I still love them so much but I’ve gained some weight over the years and these clothes are no longer appropriate for my body.  Unless I want to find my picture on one of those “People of Walmart” emails, I should probably get rid of them.  Because let’s face it, I’ve been trying to get back to my old size for 2 years now.  It ain’t gonna happen and if it does, it ain’t gonna happen anytime soon.

Then I have the “WTF was I thinking when I bought this” moments.  Seriously!?!?!  I like to pride myself on purchasing pieces that are one of a kind.  That are unique and that stand out.  But some of these pieces are hideous and I’m not sure what made me buy them in the first place.  For example I bought this gold and black shirt that is off the shoulder and really baggy.  When worn on me I look like a disco garbage bag from 1974.  It’s so unflattering and it’s just awful!!!  Obviously it was an impulse buy.

Although it’s been hard to part with some of my wardrobe, it’s time to let go.  It’s time to move on and something so simple like cleaning out your closet has given me a sense of a new beginning.  Plus, I will be donating my clothes to the women’s shelter where my sister in law works.  I’ve been told that I should take them to a consignment store and make some money off of them but it just doesn’t seem right to me.  It’s a much better feeling to know that the clothes that were just sitting in my closet for the last few years untouched, will go to someone less fortunate and someone who needs them more than I do.  And that feeling alone makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

